Posted by: beagle4 | May 4, 2011

So long

For those of you that do not know, this blog was an assignment for a class I am taking called Communicating Science. With the end of the semester, comes the end of this blog. I hope you have enjoyed reading about the magical world of dreams and sleep. My main goal when I started this project was to determine if it was possible to invent the DreamHelmet (a helmet that you can wear while you sleep that will record on video your dreams). With the knowledge I have learned about dreams, I sadly am not any closer to knowing if the DreamHelmet is possible. Dreams and the brain are still only slightly understood. Research is being done to learn more about the brain each and every day. With the advances in technology, I believe the DreamHelmet will be possible one day. I guess I will just have to wait.

Throughout this blog I have covered numerous topics including:  an introduction to dreams, bulleted notes from a PBS documentary (in response to a suggestion by another classmate), a dream log page, dream control (lucid dreams), what part of memory dreams come from, advertising in dreams, color in dreams, nightmares, death in dreams, animal dreams, dreaming about toilets, universality and quantification of dreams, the effects of cheese on dreams, baby dreams, sexual dreams, effects of alcohol on dreams, test dreams, reality checks, pain in dreams, dream incubation, puns in dreams, how dreams change with age, the difference between men and women dreams, sleep paralysis, and sleep walking. The only topic I did write about, but wanted to include was a comparison of Freud vs. Jung dream theory. However, most of the dream theory is pretty complex and who is really interested in reading about theory anyways.

Although I will not be posting any new posts on this blog, you are welcome to still make comments. I receive an email notification every time someone comments, so if you have any questions or comments, I would be happy to answer them. You can also click on any of the pages I have linked to my blog for more information.

Now for the last time, just close your eyes and dream…

Leave a Reply

Categories

