Posted by: beagle4 | February 20, 2011

The Last Sleep

Sigmund Freud believed that everyone has two contending basic drives: Eros, the drive towards pleasure and life, and Thanatos, the drive towards death. So what does it mean to dream about dying? Is the the rumor that if you die in your dream, you will die in reality true?

According to my research this rumor is completely false. Although it is impossible to know the content of the dreams of a person that dies in their sleep (one advantage the DreamHelmet will provide), the meaning of death in dreams is not always negative and does not result in your death. Many people, after awakening alive, report having died in their dreams with no ill effect.

Dreams of death usually result when there is great stress caused by relationships, school, career changes, depression or by the approach of death itself. Death in dreams may also be viewed as a metaphor of a new beginning or a time of renewal. They represent the ending of one phase, so that a new one can begin. Death in a dream can also mean the death or change to a part of your personality, or the end of a certain phase in your life. According to psychologist Carl Jung, dreams about death are linked to the “universal primordial imagery of personal transformation”, or simply put your old self will die and be reborn (transformed) as new.

Physically dying has a similar meaning to seeing images of death during a dream (death imagery). Death images in a dream are very symbolic and have many levels of interpretation. This website lists 8 basic levels of interpretation.

Not too much information scientifically about death in dreams as I hoped. I personally would not like to die in a dream or in reality.

Now just close your eyes and dream…


Responses

  1. The only times I’ve died in a dream is where I’ve fallen off a cliff and really for no apparent reason. Although next time this happens I’ll have to take a look at my emotional state to see if there is a connection.

  2. I’m not a big fan of Sigmund and Freud( I think they make alot of crazy/false assumptions, and people tend to think its true because they are well respected) ,but I have to agree that dreams can possibly be related to death. I mean I’ve definitely died more than a few times in my dreams.


Leave a comment

Categories