Posted by: beagle4 | January 23, 2011

And So It Begins..

Hello blog readers, and welcome to the imaginative mind of Brett. In my blog I will discuss the science of dreams (oneirology), a topic that scientists still do not fully understand. As an Electrical Engineer, I will be the first to admit that I am not a psychologist nor an expert on dreams; feel free to comment or provide further knowledge on any blog post I create.

I first started to become interested in dreams during an internship this past summer. As a summer project, I was instructed to come up with a new technological idea. After spending countless hours not being able to think of anything, my mind started to wander and as a joke I came up with the DreamHelmet. This fictional invention of mine is a helmet that can be worn while a person sleeps and can record their dreams onto a DreamTape (similar to DVD, VHS, etc.). In this blog I will explore if the possibility of this invention could ever actually exist in the real world (and not just in my dreams or creative writing story).

Shortly after the fictional creation of the DreamHelmet I saw the movie Inception in theaters, and it was then that I wanted to learn more about dreams and how the human mind works. I strongly recommend that you see this movie and have provided a trailer video to go along with my first blog entry.

Responses

  1. I think the idea of your DreamHelmet is pretty intriguing. Dreams have always interested me on a very subconscious, for lack of better word, level. I am looking forward to seeing what you find on the subject.

  2. What if you could see dreams as they were happening in real time? Do you think that would be easier than recording a dream?

    • Do you mean that someone would be able to watch your dreams live as they happened? That might be an invasion of privacy. Your dreams and thoughts are fully private. There would have to be some security measures to ensure that you were protected.


Leave a Reply

Categories

